University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota Foundation

Go to unit's home.

Board of Trustees

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees is elected annually in November for three-year terms. Board members are responsible for providing governance, advocacy, and philanthropic support to advance the mission of the Foundation. One-quarter of the trustees are appointed by the University’s Board of Regents. Below are the current Foundation Trustees.


  Deborah L. Hopp, Chair
Vice President of Publishing,
MSP Communications
Publisher, Mpls.St.Paul Magazine and
  Michael B. Fiterman, Vice Chair
Chairman and CEO
Liberty Diversified International
  Ross Levin, Treasurer
Founding Principal and President
Accredited Investors Inc.
  Robert E. Buuck, Secretary
Retired CEO
American Medical Systems
  Kathy Schmidlkofer, President and CEO
University of Minnesota Foundation

Other Members:

Patti Andreini Arnold
Former Chief Operating Officer
University of Minnesota Physicians

Richard L. Lindstrom, M.D.
Minnesota Eye Consultants
  Scott Augustine, M.D.
Founder and CEO
Augustine Temperature Management, LLC

Walter F. Ling*
IBM Vice President and
Minnesota Senior State Executive
  Ruth G. Bachman
Chair, Community Advisory Board,
Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota

Susan I. Marvin
Marvin Windows and Doors
  Shari L. Ballard
Chief Human Resources Officer
President, International Best Buy Co.

Virginia H. Morris
Hubbard Radio
  Richard B. Beeson, Jr.
Chair, University of Minnesota Board of Regents EVP - Corporate Development & Government Relations Sunrise Bank

Thomas G. Olson
Managing Director
Prime Mortgage
  Mary Brainerd*
President and CEO

Richard T. Ostlund, J.D.
Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie P.A.
  Jon R. Campbell
Head of Government Relations
Wells Fargo

William Pedersen
Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates
  Lynn Casey
Chair and CEO
Padilla Speer Beardsley, Inc.

Jörg A. Pierach
Founder and President, Fast Horse
Co-Owner, Tilia
  Linda A. Cohen Ph.D.*
University of Minnesota Psychologist

Christopher J. Policinski
President and CEO
Land O’Lakes, Inc
  Martin E. Davis
President and Chief Executive Officer

Kendall J. Powell*
Chairman and CEO
General Mills
  Michael J. Davis, J.D.
Chief Judge
U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota

Michael F. Roman
Senior VP for Business Development
3M Company
  Richard K. Davis*
Chairman, President and CEO
U.S. Bancorp

Debra A. Sit
Senior Vice President
Sit Investment Associates
  Archie Givens, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
Legacy Management & Development Corporation

James I. Swenson*
Swenson Family Foundation
  Beverly N. Grossman
N. Bud and Beverly Grossman Foundation

Bradford W. Wallin
Minneapolis Grain Exchange
  Russell Huffer
Retired Chairman and CEO
Apogee Enterprises

Kevin Warren, J.D.
Vice President of Legal Affairs &
Chief Administrative Officer
Minnesota Vikings
  Robert M.A. Johnson, J.D.*
Anoka County Attorney, Retired

Brian Wenger, J.D.
Executive Vice President &
Chief Legal Officer
  Eric W. Kaler, Ph.D.*
University of Minnesota

Kurt D. Winkelmann
Managing Director and
Head of Risk & Analytical Research
  Erwin A. Kelen
Kelen Ventures

George H. Winn, D.D.S.*
Investor, Board Member, Electromed, Inc.
  David M. Larson*
Regent, University of Minnesota
Former Executive Vice President and
Board Member, Cargill, Inc.

Simon KaWo Wong
Group Chairman
Kampery Group, Hong Kong
  John E. Lindahl
Norwest Equity Partners